Great Seal imageWHCCAMP banner graphic

Transmittal Letters
Commission Members
Chairman's Vision
Executive Summary

1. Introduction
2. Overview
3. Coordination of Research
4. Education & Training of Health Care Practitioners
5. Information Development & Dissemination
6. Access & Delivery
7. Coverage & Reimbursement
8. Wellness and Health Promotion
9. Coordinating Federal CAM Efforts
10.    Recommendations & Actions

•  Acronyms
A.    •  Executive Order
•  Commission Charter
B.    •  10 Rules for Health Care Reform
•  Pew Task Force Recommendations
C.    Commission Meetings
D.    General & Town Hall Meeting Participants
E.    Organizations Providing Information on Education and Training
F.    Workgroup Members
G.    Statement from Commissioners

    Commission Members

    James S. Gordon, M.D.
    The Center for Mind-Body Medicine
    2934 Macomb Street, N.W.
    Washington, DC 20008

    George M. Bernier, Jr., M.D.
    Vice President for Education
    University of Texas Medical Branch
    301 University Boulevard, Suite 1.116
    Galveston, Texas 77555-0113

    David Bresler, Ph.D, LAc, OME,
    Dipl.Ac. (NCCAOM)
    Founder and Executive Director
    The Bresler Center, Inc.
    30765 Pacific Coast Hwy #355
    Malibu, California 90265

    Thomas Chappell
    Co-Founder and President
    Tom's of Maine, Inc.
    P.O. Box 710
    Kennebunk, Maine 04043

    Effie Poy Yew Chow, Ph.D., R.N.
    DiplAc(NCCAOM), Qigong Grandmaster
    President, East West Academy of
    Healing Arts
    117 Topaz Way
    San Francisco, California 94131

    George T. DeVries, III
    Chairman, President & CEO
    American Specialty Health
    777 Front Street
    San Diego, California 92101

    William R. Fair, M.D. *
    Attending Surgeon, Urology (Emeritus)
    Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
    435 L'Ambiance Drive, #806
    Longboat Key, Florida 34228

    Joseph J. Fins, M.D., F.A.C.P.
    Associate Professor of Medicine
    Weill Medical College of Cornell University
    Director of Medical Ethics
    New York Presbyterian Hospital-Cornell Campus
    525 East 68th Street, F-173
    New York, New York 10021

    Veronica Gutierrez, D.C.
    Gutierrez Family Chiropractic
    3704 172nd Street, NE-Suite N
    Arlington, Washington 98223

    Wayne B. Jonas, M.D.
    Department of Family Medicine
    Uniformed Services University of the
    Health Sciences
    4301 Jones Bridge Road
    Bethesda, Maryland 20814-4799

    Charlotte R. Kerr, R.S.M.
    Traditional Acupuncture Institute, Inc.
    American City Building
    10227 Wincopin Circle, Suite 100
    Columbia, Maryland 21044

    Linnea Signe Larson, LCSW, LMFT
    455 Washington Blvd.
    Oak Park, Illinois 60302

    Tieraona Low Dog, M.D., A.H.G.
    4840 Pan American Freeway, N.E.
    Albuquerque, New Mexico 87109

    Dean Ornish, M.D.
    President and Director
    Preventive Medicine Research Institute
    Clinical Professor of Medicine
    University of California, San Francisco
    900 Bridgeway, Suite 2
    Sausalito, California 94965

    Conchita M. Paz, M.D.
    1510 Altura Avenue
    Las Cruces, New Mexico 88001

    Joseph E. Pizzorno, Jr., N.D.
    President Emeritus, Bastyr University
    14500 Juanita Drive, N.E.
    Kenmore, WA 98028-4966

    Buford L. Rolin
    Poarch Band of Creek Indians
    308 Forest Avenue
    P.O. Box 19
    Atmore, Alabama 36504

    Julia Scot, R.N.
    1306 Palmyra Lane
    Bowie, MD 20716

    Xiaoming Tian, M.D., L.Ac
    Director, Wildwood Acupuncture Center
    Director, Academy of Acupuncture & Chinese Medicine
    Wildwood Medical Center
    Bethesda, Maryland 20814

    Donald W. Warren, D.D.S.
    Diplomate of the American Board of Head, Neck & Facial Pain
    390 Factory Road
    Clinton, Arkansas 72031

    White House Commission on Complementary
    and Alternative Medicine Policy
    6707 Democracy Boulevard
    Room 880, MSC-5467
    Bethesda, Maryland 20817-5467

    Stephen C. Groft, Pharm.D.
    Executive Director

    Michele M. Chang, C.M.T., M.P.H.
    Executive Secretary

    Corinne Axelrod, M.P.H., L.Ac., Dipl.Ac
    Senior Program Analyst

    Joseph M. Kaczmarczyk, D.O., M.P.H.
    Senior Medical Advisor

    Geraldine B. Pollen, M.A.
    Senior Program Analyst

    Doris A. Kingsbury
    Program Assistant

    Joan Albrecht
    Program Assistant

    Kenneth D. Fisher, Ph.D.
    Senior Scientific Advisor

    Maureen Miller, RN, MPH
    Senior Policy Analyst

    James Swyers, M.A.

    * deceased

    Commission's website: