President's Advisory Commission on Consumer Protection and Quality in the Health Care Industry

about button

meetings button

member button

press button

charter button

comments button

  • Commission Co-Chairs

  • Commissioners

  • Commission Executive Staff

  • Commission Subcommittees

  • Commission Co-Chairs

    ALEXIS M. HERMAN, U.S. Secretary of Labor

    DONNA E. SHALALA, U.S. Secretary of Health & Human Services


    BETTY BEDNARCZYK, of Washington, DC, is International Secretary-Treasurer of Service Employees International Union.

    DONALD BERWICK, of Newton, Massachusetts, is President and Chief Executive Officer of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement.

    CHRISTINE K. CASSEL, of New York City, New York, currently serves as Chairman of the Henry L. Schwarz Department of Geriatrics and Adult Development at Mt. Sinai Medical Center.

    JAMES CHAO, of Naperville, Illinois, is the President of Metro Provider Service Corporation.

    ROBERT GEORGINE, of Silver Spring, Maryland, is the President of the Building and Construction Trades Department of the AFL-CIO.

    S. DIANE GRAHAM, of Paradise Valley, Arizona, is the Chairman and CEO of STRATCO, Inc., a mechanical and chemical engineering firm.

    VAL J. HALAMANDARIS, of the District of Columbia, currently serves as the President of the National Association for Home Care (NAHC).

    SANDRA HERNANDEZ, of San Francisco, California, currently serves as Director and Chief Executive Officer of the San Francisco Foundation.

    NAN HUNTER, of New York, New York, is an Associate Professor of Law at Brooklyn Law School.

    SYLVIA DREW IVIE, of Los Angeles, California, currently serves as the Executive Director of T.H.E. Clinic for Women in Los Angeles, a primary health care clinic.

    RISA J. LAVIZZO-MOUREY, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, is the Director for the Institute of Aging, Chief of the Division of Geriatric Medicine, Associate Executive Vice President for Health Policy, and the Sylvan Eisman Professor of Medicine and Health Care Systems at the University of Pennsylvania.

    SHEILA LEATHERMAN, of Minneapolis, Minnesota, is Executive Vice President of the United Health Care Corporation.

    L. BEN LYTLE, of Indianapolis, Indiana, is President and CEO of Anthem, Inc.

    J. RANDALL MACDONALD, of Connecticut, is the Executive Vice President for Human Resources and Administration at the GTE Corporation.

    BEVERLY MALONE, of Greensboro, North Carolina, is the President of the American Nurses Association.

    GERALD MCENTEE, of the District of Columbia, is the International President of the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME).

    PAUL MONTRONE, of Hampton Falls, New Hampshire, is the President and CEO of Fisher Scientific International, Inc.

    PHILLIP NUDELMAN, of Seattle, Washington, is the President and CEO of Group Health Cooperative of Puget Sound, a non-profit managed health care delivery system.

    HERBERT PARDES, of New York, New York, is the Vice President for Health Sciences and Dean of the Faculty of Medicine at the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons.

    RON POLLACK, of Alexandria, Virginia, currently serves as the Executive Director of Families USA.

    MARTA PRADO, of Hollywood, Florida, is the Senior Vice President of InPhyNet Medical Management and Chief Operating Officer of InPhyNet's Managed Care and Corrections Divisions.

    CHRISTOPHER QUERAM, of Madison, Wisconsin, is the Chief Executive Officer of the Employer Health Care Alliance Cooperative (The Alliance).

    ROBERT RAY, of Des Moines, Iowa, is a former Governor of Iowa, and serves as Co-Chair of the National Leadership Coalition on Health Care.

    THOMAS REARDON, of Boring, Oregon, is the Medical Director of the Portland Adventist Medical Group.

    KATHLEEN SEBELIUS, of Topeka, Kansas, currently serves as the Insurance Commissioner for the State of Kansas and as Chair of the Health Committee of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

    STEVEN S. SHARFSTEIN, of Baltimore, Maryland, is President, Medical Director and CEO of Sheppard Pratt, a non-profit behavioral health system.

    PETER THOMAS, of the District of Columbia, is a principal in the law firm of Powers, Pylers, Sutter & Verville, P.C.

    MARY WAKEFIELD, of McLean, Virginia, currently serves as the Director and Professor of the Center for Health Policy at George Mason University.

    GAIL WARDEN, of Detroit, Michigan, currently serves as President and CEO of the Henry Ford Health Systems.

    ALAN WEIL, of Denver, Colorado, currently is co-director of the Assessing the New Federalism Project at the Urban Institute.

    SHELDON WEINHAUS, of St. Louis, Missouri, is an attorney who has worked extensively representing workers in health care litigation.

    STEPHEN F. WIGGINS, of Darien, Connecticut, is the Founder, Chairman and CEO of Oxford Health Plans, Inc.

    Commission Executive Staff

    Janet Corrigan, of Columbia, Maryland, is the Executive Director of the Advisory Commission on Consumer Protection and Quality in the Health Care Industry. She formerly was a principal researcher at the Center for Studying Health System Change.

    Richard Sorian, of the District of Columbia, is the Deputy Director of the Advisory Commission on Consumer Protection and Quality in the Health Care Industry. He most recently served as a Senior Advisor for Health Policy at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

    Ann Page is the Associate Director for Policy of the Advisory Commission on Consumer Protection and Quality in the Health Care Industry. Before joining the Commission, she worked as Director of Consumer and Quality Programs at the Institute for Health Policy Solutions.

    Commission Staff

    John Dicken
    Elizabeth Docteur
    Mary Gerald
    Edward (Chip) Malin
    Karen Titlow

    Commission Subcommittees

    Review of the Commissioner's subcommittee assignments and the general responsibilities of each subcommittee can be found below.

    U.S. eagle seal
    [ About the Commission | Charter | Commission Membership | Press Releases | Meetings ]

    Last Revised: Saturday, July 18, 1998