Skip to Content Site Map | Fast Facts | Search

Working Group Members and Staff

Working Group Members
Citizens’ Health Care Working Group Staff


See this document in print-ready PDF format.

Working Group Members


The Citizens’ Health Care Working Group is comprised of 14 citizens from diverse backgrounds who were selected to represent an informed cross-section of the American people, in addition to the Secretary of Health and Human Services. The Working Group was authorized by the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement and Modernization Act of 2003, to develop recommendations for the President and Congress that will result in “Health Care that Works for All Americans.”

The nonpartisan group was tasked with engaging the public in a nationwide discussion of options to address the current crisis in health care and improve the health care system in the United States. By listening to citizens from communities across the country, the Working Group has developed recommendations to transform the nation’s health care system while addressing runaway costs, unaffordable care, and unreliable quality.


Patricia A. Maryland

Vice Chair

Richard G. Frank


Frank J. Baumeister, Jr.

Dorothy A. Bazos

Montye S. Conlan

Joseph T. Hansen

Therese A. Hughes

Brent C. James

Randall L. Johnson

Michael O. Leavitt, Secretary of HHS*

Catherine G. McLaughlin

Rosario Perez

Aaron Shirley

Deborah R. Stehr

Christine L. Wright

* As Secretary of Health and Human Services, Michael Leavitt serves as the 15th member of the Working Group by law. Secretary Leavitt has neither participated in the development of the Working Group’s recommendations nor has he endorsed them. When referred to HHS for review, he will carefully consider them and take appropriate action.

Citizens’ Health Care Working Group Staff

George Grob
Executive Director

Permanent Full-Time Staff

Jill Bernstein
Craig Caplan
Carolyn Dell
Jessica Federer
William Hyde
Margretta Kennedy
Andrew Rock
Connie Chic Smith
Caroline Taplin


Interim/Part-Time Staff

Suzanne Amoonarquah
Normandy Brangan
Ken Cohen
Elyse Goldenberg
Lisa Goodnight
Jocelyn Hsu
Anne McGuire
Zakiya Pierre
Rebecca Anhang Price
Paige Smyth
Rachel Tyree
Lora Wentzel


IBM-Neighborhood America
Public Forum Institute


Jon Comola
Marcia Comstock
Jack Molnar
Joy Quill



The Citizens’ Health Care Working Group would like to thank all the people across the United States who helped us organize community meetings and encouraged neighbors and friends to attend meetings and to provide ideas, information, and input to the Working Group in person, in writing, and over the Internet. The Dialogue with the American People lists close to one hundred meetings and describes some of the contributions of organizations who worked with us over the past 18 months. Hundreds more individuals and organizations offered assistance with every aspect of our work. We hope that all know how deeply appreciative we are for their contributions.

We also offer our special thanks for data analyses conducted by staff of the Center for Financing, Access, and Cost Trends, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality; the National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; and the Economic Research Initiative on the Uninsured at the University of Michigan. These analyses, including data reported in The Health Report to the American People, helped us to understand important issues of access to care, health care costs, and quality of care.

(To view documents posted on this web site as PDF files or in other formats, please read our Format help page.)