Commission Home Button
Commission Members Button
Commission Meetings Button
How to Contact the Commission Button
Commission News and Events Button
Doubletree Hotel
Plaza Ballroom I & II
Rockville Pike
Rockville, Maryland

Thursday, February 21, 2002 &
Friday, February 22, 2002



James S. Gordon, M.D., Director
The Center for Mind-Body Medicine

Commission Members
George M. Bernier, Jr., M.D.
Vice President for Education
University of Texas Medical Branch

David Bresler, Ph.D., LAc, OME,
Dipl.Ac. (NCCAOM)
Founder and Executive Director
The Bresler Center, Inc.

Thomas Chappell
Co-Founder and President
Tom's of Maine, Inc.

Effie Poy Yew Chow, Ph.D., R.N., DiplAc (NCCA)
Qigong Grandmaster
President, East-West Academy of Healing Arts

George T. DeVries, III  [Not present]
Chairman, CEO, American Specialty Health Plans

Joseph J. Fins, M.D., F.A.C.P.
Associate Professor of Medicine,
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
Director of Medical Ethics,
New York Presbyterian Hospital-Cornell Campus

Veronica Gutierrez, D.C.
Gutierrez Family Chiropractic

Wayne B. Jonas, M.D.
Department of Family Medicine
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
F. Edward Hebert School of Medicine

Charlotte Kerr, R.S.M.
Traditional Acupuncture Institute, Inc.

Linnea S. Larson, LCSW, LMFT
Associate Director
West Suburban Health Care
Center for Integrative Medicine

Tieraona Low Dog, M.D., A.H.G.
(Private Practice)

Dean Ornish, M.D. [Not present]
Preventive Medicine Research Institute
Clinical Professor of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco

Conchita M. Paz, M.D.
(Private Practice)

Joseph E. Pizzorno, Jr., N.D.
Co-Founder/Founding President, Bastyr University

Buford L. Rolin
Poarch Band of Creek Indians

Julia R. Scott
National Black Women's Health Project

Xiaoming Tian, M.D., LAc
Director, Wildwood Acupuncture Center
Academy of Acupuncture & Chinese Medicine

Donald W. Warren, D.D.S.
Diplomate of the American Board of
Head, Neck & Facial Pain

Executive Staff
Stephen C. Groft, Pharm.D.
Executive Director

Michele M. Chang, C.M.F., M.P.H. [Not present]
Executive Secretary

Joseph M. Kaczmarczyk, D.O., M.P.H.
Senior Medical Advisor

Corinne Axelrod, M.P.H.
Senior Program Analyst

Geraldine B. Pollen, M.A.
Senior Program Analyst

Joan Albrecht
Program Assistant

Doris A. Kingsbury
Program Assistant

Consultant Staff
Kenneth D. Fisher, Ph.D.
Senior Scientific Advisor

Maureen Miller, R.N., M.P.H.
Senior Policy Advisor

Max Heirich

James Swyers

Top | Contents