AMC seal Antitrust Modernization Commission
Home About the Commission Commission Documents Commission Meetings Commission Hearings Public Comment

The Antitrust Modernization Commission was created pursuant to the Antitrust Modernization Commission Act of 2002, Pub. L. No. 107-273, 11051-60, 116 Stat. 1856. The Commission consists of 12 members, 4 of which were appointed by the President, 4 of which were appointed by the leadership of the Senate, and 4 of which were appointed by the leadership of the House of Representatives. Id. § 11054(a).

The Commission is charged by statute:

(1) to examine whether the need exists to modernize the antitrust laws and to identify and study related issues;
(2) to solicit views of all parties concerned with the operation of the antitrust laws;
(3) to evaluate the advisability of proposals and current arrangements with respect to any issues so identified; and
(4) to prepare and submit to Congress and the President a report.

Id. § 11053. The report is to “contain a detailed statement of the findings and conclusions of the Commission, together with recommendations for legislative or administrative action the Commission considers to be appropriate.” Id. § 11058.

Commissioners and Commission Staff