President's Commission on Moon, Mars and Beyond

President's Commission on
Moon, Mars and Beyond

Images and Documents
Contact Us

Commission Members

The Honorable Edward C. "Pete" Aldridge, Jr.

Pete Aldridge is a 42-year veteran of aerospace technology leadership, serving the Nation for more than 18 years in the Department of Defense, most recently as the Under Secretary for Acquisition, Technology and Logistics. His DoD career began as an operations research analyst. Later he became Under Secretary and then Secretary of the Air Force under President Reagan. Aldridge gained valuable experience in the private sector as chief executive officer of The Aerospace Corporation, a non-profit organization dedicated to solving critical national problems through science and technology, and as president of McDonnell Douglas Electronic Systems Company. Aldridge was born in Houston, Texas. He earned his bachelor's degree in aeronautical engineering from Texas A&M University and a master's degree in aeronautical engineering from Georgia Tech. He lives in Virginia.

Carleton S. Fiorina

Carly Fiorina serves as chairwoman and chief executive officer of Hewlett Packard, a familiar brand in computer technology that today is making the Internet work for business and consumers. She joined HP in July 1999. Her roots are deep in technology having served in senior executive leadership positions at AT&T and Lucent Technologies. She holds a bachelor's degree in philosophy and history from Stanford; a master's degree in business administration from the Robert H. Smith School of Business at the University of Maryland as well as a master's of science degree from MIT's Sloan School. She resides in California.

The Honorable Michael P. Jackson

Michael Jackson is senior vice president for AECOM Technology Corporation responsible for international business development for this Virginia-based firm. Jackson is the former U.S. Department of Transportation Deputy Secretary, responsible for the department's day-to-day operations in 2002. He also played a lead role for DOT in the launch of the Transportation Security Administration in the aftermath of the Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attacks. Before coming to DOT, Jackson was chief operating officer of Lockheed Martin Corp.'s intelligent-transportation systems unit. From 1993 to 1997 Jackson was senior vice president with the American Trucking Associations. He had been chief of staff to then-DOT Secretary Andrew Card from 1992 to 1993. Jackson graduated with honors from the University of Houston and received a Ph.D. in political science from Georgetown. He lives in Virginia.

Laurie Ann Leshin

Laurie Leshin is the director of Arizona State University's Center for Meteorite Studies and the Dee and John Whiteman Dean's Distinguished Professor of geological sciences at the University. Her research is focuses on understanding the formation and evolution of our solar system and its planets. She currently leads a team that is designing a potential mission to Mars for collection of mars soil samples. She is widely published in her field of study. Her Ph.D. is from California Institute of Technology. She is an Arizona resident.

General Lester L. Lyles, (Retired)

General Lyles gave more than 35 years of his life to the US Air Force, rising from the Air Force ROTC program to become a 4-star general, commander of the Air Force Materiel Command. The command conducts research, development, test and evaluation, and provides acquisition management and logistics support necessary to keep Air Force weapon systems at-the-ready. Recipient of numerous awards and military decorations, Lyles holds a bachelor of science degree from Howard University, Washington, D.C., and a master of science degree in mathematics and nuclear engineering from New Mexico State University. He presently resides in Ohio.

Paul D. Spudis

Paul Spudis is a planetary scientist at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory. His specialty is the geology of the moon. He has also studied the geology of Mars, Mercury, and many other worlds. He was the deputy leader of the science team for the Clementine lunar mission in 1994. Spudis remains active with NASA and national Academy of Sciences committees, helping shape the future of space exploration. His undergraduate degree in geology is from Arizona State University; a master's degree from Brown University and his Ph.D. is from Arizona State University. He resides in Maryland.

Neil deGrasse Tyson

Neil Tyson is an astrophysicist and the Frederick P. Rose Director of the Hayden Planetarium in New York City. His professional research interests include star formation, exploding stars, dwarf galaxies, and the structure of The Milky Way. Tyson is a prolific author and outstanding educator. He served on the Future of the US Aerospace Industry Commission in 2001. He is a life-long New Yorker, a graduate of public schools. He went on to earn is bachelor of arts from Harvard and his Ph.D. in astrophysics from Columbia University. He resides in New York.

The Honorable Robert S. Walker

Robert Walker, is chairman and chief executive officer of The Wexler & Walker Public Policy Associates, a firm specializing in telecommunications and technology issues. Walker served in the Congress of the United States from 1977 to 1997, representing his home state of Pennsylvania. While in Congress he served as the Chairman of the House Science and Technology Committee, with NASA oversight and a key influencer in the development of technology, including the Internet. Walker is a frequent public speaker and served the Nation as the Chair of the US Commission on the Future of US Aerospace Industry in 2001. He holds a bachelor of science from Millersville University, a master of arts from University of Delaware. A veteran of the National Guard, Walker also taught school in Pennsylvania before launching his Washington career. He is a resident of Pennsylvania.

Maria Zuber

Maria Zuber is the E. A. Griswold Professor of Geophysics and Planetary Sciences at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and leads the Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences. Zuber has been involved in more than half a dozen NASA planetary missions aimed at mapping the moon, Mars, Mercury, and several asteroids. Her MIT research focuses on the structure and evolution of the Earth and terrestrial planets and combines implementation of spacecraft laser and radio tracking with theoretical modeling of geophysical processes that shape planetary surfaces. She received her bachelor of arts in astrophysics from the University of Pennsylvania and her Sc. M and Ph.D. in geophysics from Brown University. She has taught at Johns Hopkins University and served as a research scientist at Goddard Space Flight Center in Maryland. She resides in Massachusetts.

Privacy | Accessibility | Disclaimer
President's Commission on Implementation of U.S. Space Exploration Policy 2900 South Quincy Street, Suite 800
Arlington, VA 22206
Sustaining our journey of exploration