

www.taxreformpanel.gov



## Meeting Minutes of the President's Advisory Panel on Federal Tax Reform July 20, 2005

The tenth meeting of the President's Advisory on Federal Tax Reform was held on Wednesday, July 20, 2005 at 9:00 a m The meeting was held at the Renaissance Hotel, 999 9<sup>th</sup> Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001. The following panel members were present at the meeting:

The Honorable Connie Mack, Chairman The Honorable John Breaux, Vice Chairman The Honorable William Eldridge Frenzel Elizabeth Garrett Edward Lazear Timothy J Muris James Michael Poterba Charles O. Rossotti Liz Ann Sonders

The following staff were present at the meeting:

Jeffrey Kupfer, Executive Director Jonathan Ackerman Rosanne Altshuler Jon Bakija Tara Brashaw Travis Burk Seth Giertz Itai Grinberg Kanon McGill Julie Skelton

Mark S. Kaizen, Designated Federal Officer Kirsten N Witter

Mr Kupfer, Mr Ackerman, and Ms Altshuler made presentations on the following topics to the Panel:

- Complexity and Stability
- Distribution Tables
- Revenue Neutrality
- Alternative Minimum Tax
- Understanding Tax Bases

www.taxreformpanel.gov



Based on these presentations the Panel made the following decisions:

- The Panel agreed to use Treasury distribution tables as a basis of analysis
- The Panel agreed to use Treasury revenue estimates, and to present conventional and dynamic analyses
- After discussing issues associated with both the individual and corporate alternative minimum tax, the Panel agreed to repeal the individual AMT The decision about whether to repeal the corporate AMT was deferred

The attached transcript and presentation materials accurately describe each matter that was discussed by the Panel at the meeting,

These minutes are certified as true and correct,,

me Mark

Connie Mack Chairman