Great Seal of the United States National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States


OFFICE (202) 401-1725
MOBILE (202) 236-4878
FAX (202) 296-5545

9-11 Commission to Release Report on July 8

July 2, 2003 - Thomas H. Kean and Lee H. Hamilton, Chair and Vice Chair of the 9-11 Commission, will release a progress report to the American people at a July 8 press briefing at 2:30 PM at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, DC.

Kean and Hamilton will report on the progress of the 9-11 Commission during the past six months and indicate how the Commission intends to proceed in the coming months. The briefing will be held in Joseph H. and Claire Flom Auditorium on the sixth floor of the Woodrow Wilson Center, located in the Ronald Reagan Building at 1300 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW.

The July 8 public briefing will precede the Commission's July 9 public hearing on "Terrorism, Al Qaeda, and the Muslim World." This one-day hearing will convene at 9:00 AM in Room 253 of the Russell Senate Office Building in Washington, DC. Chairman Kean and Vice Chair Hamilton will be available to press at the conclusion of the public hearing.

Members of the media are required to register in advance for both events. To register for the July 8 press briefing, contact Al Felzenberg, Deputy for Communications, at or register online. To register for the hearing, members of the media should visit the Commission's Web site at

An agenda for the July 9 hearing as well as directions to the Wilson Center follow this advisory.

Terrorism, Al Qaeda, and the Muslim World

9:00 AM

Hearing Commences

Opening Statement from Chairman Kean


Rohan Gunaratna, Head of Terrorism Research and Associate Professor, Institute for Defence and Strategic Studies, Singapore and author of Inside Al Qaeda: Global Network of Terror

Mamoun Fandy, Senior Fellow, United States Institute of Peace and author of Saudi Arabia and the Politics of Dissent

Marc Sageman, Lecturer, Solomon Asch Center for the Study of Ethnopolitical Conflict, University of Pennsylvania

11:0 AM

PANEL TWO: States and Terrorism

Laurie Mylroie, author of Study of Revenge: Saddam Hussein's Unfinished War Against America

Judith Yaphe, Senior Research Fellow and Middle East Project Director, Institute for National Strategic Studies, National Defense University

Murhaf Jouejati, Adjunct Scholar, Middle East Institute and Lecturer, George Washington University

Mark Gasiorowski, Professor of Political Science, Louisiana State University

1:00 PM


2:00 PM

PANEL THREE: The Challenge within the Muslim World

Richard Murphy, Hasib J. Sabbagh Senior Fellow for the Middle East at the Council on Foreign Relations

Gilles Kepel, Professor, Institute of Political Studies, Paris and author of Jihad: The Trail of Political Islam

Steven Emerson, Executive Director of the Investigative Project and author of American Jihad: The Terrorists Living Among Us

4:00 PM

Hearing Concludes. Press availability to follow.

Directions to the
Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
Ronald Reagan Building
1300 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, D.C. 20004-3027

Please allow time on arrival at the building for routine security procedures. A photo ID is required.

Map of Ronald Reagan building location

By Metro, at Federal Triangle Station: Go to the top of the escalator at street level, cross Woodrow Wilson Plaza. Enter the Center's Lobby at the left (southeast) corner of the Ronald Reagan Building.

From Pennsylvania Avenue at 13th Street: Walk down Woodrow Wilson Plaza, the north-south extension of 13th Street beside the Ronald Reagan Building. Enter the Center's lobby at the far end of the plaza-the southeast corner of the building.

From 14th Street: Go through the Ronald Reagan Building along the right (south) side of the atrium and continue past it. At the hall's end, turn left and enter the Woodrow Wilson Memorial. Go through the Memorial. At its far end, turn right into the Center's lobby.

Current News

The Commission has released its final report. [more]

The Chair and Vice Chair have released a statement regarding the Commission's closing. [more]

The Commission closed August 21, 2004. [more]

Commission Members

Thomas H. Kean

Lee H. Hamilton
Vice Chair

Richard Ben-Veniste
Fred F. Fielding
Jamie S. Gorelick
Slade Gorton
Bob Kerrey
John F. Lehman
Timothy J. Roemer
James R. Thompson

Commission Staff

Philip D. Zelikow
Executive Director

Chris Kojm
Deputy Executive Director

Daniel Marcus
General Counsel