Great Seal of the United States National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States

Second public hearing of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States

The Commission's second public hearing was held on May 22 - 23, 2003 in Washington, DC. The Commission heard testimony on Congressional oversight as well as the state of the aviation security before and after the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks.

Archived Video and Transcripts

Hearing Agenda

May 22, 2003

Congressional Oversight

9:00 AM
Hearing Commences

Opening Statement from Chairman Kean

9:05 AM Commission Mandate and Objectives

Rep. Nancy Pelosi
Sen. John McCain
Sen. Joseph Lieberman

9:30 AM Intelligence Oversight and the Joint Inquiry

Sen. Bob Graham
Sen. Richard Shelby
Rep. Porter Goss
Rep. Jane Harman

10:45 AM Affected Constituencies

Sen. Charles Schumer
Sen. Hillary Rodham Clinton
Sen. Jon Corzine
Sen. Frank Lautenberg
Rep. Jerry Nadler
Rep. Christopher Shays
Rep. Christopher Smith

TBD Break

Civil Aviation Security

2:00 PM State of the System: Civil Aviation Security on September 11th
  • Jane Garvey, former Administrator, Federal Aviation Administration
  • Kenneth Mead, Inspector General, Department of Transportation
  • James May, President, Air Transport Association of America
  • Bogdan Dzakovic, Civil Aviation Security Inspector, Transportation Security Agency
4:00 PM Hearing Concludes. Press availability to follow.

May 23, 2003

Civil Aviation Security (continued)

9:00 AM September 11, 2001: The Attacks and the Response
11:00 AM Reforming Civil Aviation Security: Next Steps
  • Stephen McHale, Deputy Administrator, Transportation Security Agency
  • MGen O.K. Steele (ret.), former Associate Administrator for Civil Aviation Security
  • Mary Schiavo, former Inspector General, Department of Transportation
1:00 PM Hearing Concludes. Press availability to follow.

Current News

The Commission has released its final report. [more]

The Chair and Vice Chair have released a statement regarding the Commission's closing. [more]

The Commission closed August 21, 2004. [more]

Commission Members

Thomas H. Kean

Lee H. Hamilton
Vice Chair

Richard Ben-Veniste
Fred F. Fielding
Jamie S. Gorelick
Slade Gorton
Bob Kerrey
John F. Lehman
Timothy J. Roemer
James R. Thompson

Commission Staff

Philip D. Zelikow
Executive Director

Chris Kojm
Deputy Executive Director

Daniel Marcus
General Counsel