Return To Flight Task Group
Home Charter Members News Activities Activities Multimedia
Mr. Benjamin A. Cosgrove


In the course of a 44-year career with the Boeing Company, Mr. Cosgrove was an engineer and manager associated with most of the company's jet aircraft programs. He served as stress engineer or structural unit chief on the B-47, B-52, and KC-135, and on the Boeing 707, 727, 737, and 747 jetliners. He was Chief Engineer of the 767. Cosgrove was honored by Aviation Week & Space Technology for his role in converting the Boeing 767 transport design from a three-member to two-member cockpit configuration, and he received the Ed Wells Technical Management Award for his work addressing issues of aging aircraft. Cosgrove received the National Aeronautics Association's Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy for his lifetime contributions to commercial aviation safety and for technical achievement. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a fellow of both the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and the Royal Aeronautical Society. After retiring in 1993 as Senior Vice President, Boeing Commercial Airplane Group, Cosgrove became a consultant. Cosgrove was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1992. He holds both a B.S. in Aeronautical Engineering and an honorary Doctorate of Engineering from the University of Notre Dame. Cosgrove has served on the NASA Advisory Committee's Task Force on International Space Station Operational Readiness and the Committee on Space Shuttle Upgrades.

Back to Members List
Privacy | Disclaimer | Accessibility
Return To Flight Task Group / 1740 NASA Road 1 / Mail Code: RTFTG / Houston, Texas 77058