This document was downloaded and archived from  on May 21, 2001.

March 15, 2000
CONTACT:   Edmund Byrnes
202-606-2572 or

Two U.S. Office of Personnel Management
Reinvention Efforts Win Hammer Awards


Washington, D.C. - As the federal government continues its reinvention efforts, Vice President Gore acknowledges those who have helped make it more customer focused and responsive to the needs of the American people.

Today, at a nationwide meeting of U.S. Office of Personnel Management (OPM) supervisors and managers, Director Janice R. Lachance applauded two OPM offices that were presented with Vice President Gore's Hammer Awards - an award that recognizes teams of federal employees and their partners whose work resulted in a government that works better and achieves results that Americans care about.

"Because of President Clinton and Vice President Gore's efforts, today's federal government is the smallest it's been since the Eisenhower Administration, but even more effective at doing the people's business," said Director Lachance. "And OPM is proud to be a major contributor to those efforts."

The Hammer Awards were presented to OPM's Investigations Service and its Retirement and Insurance Service by Morley Winograd, a Senior Policy Advisor to Vice President Al Gore and the Director of the National Partnership for Reinventing Government.

The Investigations Service received the Hammer Award for its work on the establishment of the first employee-owned, private sector firm arising from a federal government operation. Through the creation of US Investigations Services, Inc., OPM privatized an important personnel security program with no disruption in service to its customers and with humane treatment of its employees, while creating savings for the taxpayers.

The Retirement and Insurance Service was awarded the Hammer Award for its work with the Railroad Retirement Board (RRB) to create a data matching program which enables RRB to more effectively manage its benefit payments. The matching program is used to identify and prevent retirement payments to individuals no longer eligible for those benefits, thus achieving savings for the American taxpayer.

Both awards were presented during a luncheon meeting at the conference.

Award Winners -

    OPM Team members from the Investigations Service:

Richard Ferris - Team Leader
Charles Overend
Kathy Dillaman
Mary Mitchelson
James Green
Wade Plunkett
Gilbert Seaux
Alfred Chatterton
Raymond Hesson

    US Investigations, Inc.:

Philip Harper
Philip Gasiewicz

OPM Team members from the Retirement and Insurance Service:

William E. Flynn, III - Team Leader
Marc Flaster
Diana Chapman
David Snell
Robert Anderson
Jacqulyn R. Sacks
Jean E. Valentine


United States
Office of
Office of
Theodore Roosevelt Building
1900 E Street, NW
Room 5F12
Washington, DC 20415-0001
(202) 606-2402
FAX: (202) 606-2264

Web page created 15 March 2000

Comments about this site may be sent to the UNT Libraries
Government Documents Department.