Our Mission About the Commission Return to the Home Page Background Information Contact Information Presidential Address New Freedom Commission on Mental Health


President's New Freedom
Commission on Mental Health

Achieving the Promise: Transforming Mental Health Care in America


ACF Administration for Children and Families

AD/HD Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder

ADA Americans with Disabilities Act

BBA Balanced Budget Act

CMHS Center for Mental Health Services

CSAT Center for Substance Abuse Treatment

CMS Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services

DOJ U.S. Department of Justice

EBPs Evidence-based Practices

ED U. S. Department of Education

FCTI Family Critical Time Intervention Model

FDA U.S. Food and Drug Administration

GAO General Accounting Office

HCBS Home and Community-based Services

HHS U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

HIPAA Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act

HRSA Health Resources and Services Administration

HUD U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

IDEA Individuals with Disabilities Education Act

IEP Individualized Education Program

IMDs Institutions for Mental Diseases

IOM Institute of Medicine

NIH National Institutes of Health

NIMH National Institute of Mental Health

NSSP National Strategy for Suicide Prevention

OCR Office for Civil Rights

PTSD Post-traumatic Stress Disorder

SAMHSA Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration

SSA Social Security Administration

SSDI Social Security and Disability Income

SSI Social Security Income

TANF Temporary Assistance for Needy Families

TMAP Texas Medication Algorithm Project

TWWIIA The Ticket to Work and Work Incentives Improvement Act

VA Department of Veterans Affairs

VHA Veterans Health Administration

WHO World Health Organization


Previous Page Table Of Contents Next Page


Commission on Mental Health Logo

Mental Health Resources / Home