Our Mission About the Commission Return to the Home Page Background Information Contact Information Presidential Address New Freedom Commission on Mental Health


President's New Freedom
Commission on Mental Health

Achieving the Promise: Transforming Mental Health Care in America


The Commission deeply appreciates the more than 2,300 persons who shared comments, personal stories, and recommendations through its web site, at public hearings, and in letters and e-mails. Their insightful and heartfelt comments have strengthened and helped shape the work of the President's New Freedom Commission on Mental Health.

Many people assisted the President's New Freedom Commission on Mental Health with its work. The Commission acknowledges the following individuals for their important contributions:

Executive staff

Claire Heffernan, J.D., Executive Director

H. Stanley Eichenauer, M.S.W., A.C.S.W., Deputy Executive Director

Patty DiToto, Administrative Assistant

Dawn Foti Levinson, M.S.W., Policy Advisor

James Finley, M.A., Policy Analyst

Kevin Hennessey, Ph.D., Senior Policy Advisor

Ann Jacob Smith, M.S., NCC, LPC, Policy Advisor

Elaine Viccora, L.C.S.W., Senior Policy Advisor

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

Gail Hutchings, M.P.A, Acting Director, Center for Mental Health Services, and Senior Advisor to the Administrator, SAMHSA

Mark Weber, M.B.A., Associate Administrator for Communications, SAMHSA

Jeffrey Buck, Ph.D., Associate Director for Organization and Financing, Center for Mental Health Services

Kana Enomoto, M.A., Special Assistant to the Director, Center for Mental Health Services

Sybil Goldman, M.S.W., Senior Advisor on Children, Office of the Administrator

Michael Malden, Public Health Advisor, Center for Mental Health Services

Ronald Manderscheid, M.D., Chief, Survey and Analysis Branch, Center for Mental Health Services

Barbara McGrath, Administrative Officer, Office of Program Services, Division of Administrative Services

Rich Morey, Webmaster, Division of Information Resources Management

Renee Perthuis, Department of Health and Human Services, Washington, DC

Susette Rego, Web Team Leader, Division of Information Resources Management

Eleanor Vincent, M.P.A., Manager, Andrea Adams and Andre McCabe, Mental Health Information Center, SAMHSA

Expert consultants advising the Commission's subcommittees

Steve Adelsheim, M.D., Children and Families, New Mexico Department of Health, Albuquerque, NM

Lynn Aronson, Housing and Homelessness, Goleta, CA

Stephen J. Bartels, M.D., Older Adults, Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Dartmouth Medical School, Lebanon, NH

Eric Caine, M.D., Suicide Prevention, John Romano Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry, University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, NY

Jean Campbell, Ph.D., Consumer Issues, Research Assistant Professor, Missouri Institute of Mental Health, St. Louis, MO

Judith Cook, Ph.D., Employment and Income Supports, Professor and Principal Investigator, University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, IL

King Davis, Ph.D., Cultural Competence and Children and Families, Professor, University of Texas, Austin, TX

Miriam R. Davis, Ph.D., Interim Report and Final Report, Medical Writer and Consultant (LLC), Silver Spring, MD

Stephen Day, Medicaid, Executive Director, Technical Assistance Collaborative, Inc., Boston, MA

Richard Frank, Ph.D., Medication, Professor, Department of Health Care Policy, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA

Bob Friedman, Ph.D. Children and Families, Professor and Chair, Department of Child and Family Studies, Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL

Barbara Friesen, Ph.D., Children and Families, Director, Research and Training Center on Family Support and Children's Mental Health, Portland State University, Portland, OR

Howard Goldman, M.D., Ph.D., Evidence-Based Practices/Medication, Professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD

Rachel Guerrero, L.C.S.W., Children and Families, Chief, Office of Multicultural Services, State Department Mental Health, Sacramento, CA

Pamela Hyde, J.D., Medicaid, Senior Consultant, Technical Assistance Collaborative, Santa Fe, NM

Ethleen Iron Cloud-Two Dogs, Cultural Competence, Program Director, Oglala Sioux Tribe, Porcupine, SD

Kerry Knox, Ph.D. Suicide Prevention (assisting Eric Caine), Department of Psychiatry, University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, NY

Col. David Litts, M.D., Suicide Prevention, Associate Director for Suicide Prevention Resource Center, Washington, DC

Ruby J. Martinez, Ph.D., Cultural Competence, Assistant Professor, School of Nursing, University of Colorado Health Sciences, Denver, CO

Kenneth Minkoff, M.D., Co-occurring Disorders, Director of Integrated Psychiatric and Addiction Services for Arbour Health System, Medical Director of Choate Health Management Care, and Assistant Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at Harvard, Boston, MA

Dennis Mohatt, M.A., Rural Issues, Senior Program Director, Mental Health Program, Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education, Boulder, CO

John T. Monahan, Ph.D., Rights and Engagement, Professor, University of Virginia, Institute of Law, Psychiatry, and Public Policy, Charlottesville, VA

Pat Mrazek, Ph.D., M.S.W., Children and Families, Mental Health Policy Consultant, Rochester, MN

Sheila Pires, M.P.A., Children and Families, Partner, Human Service Collaborative, Washington, DC

Ann O'Hara, Housing and Homelessness, Associate Director, Technical Assistance Collaborative, Boston, MA

Steven P. Shon, M.D., Cultural Competence, Medical Director, Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation, Austin, TX

Henry Steadman, Ph.D., Criminal Justice, President, Policy Research Associates, Inc., Delmar, NY

Susan Stefan, J.D., Rights and Engagement, Attorney, Center for Public Representation, Newton, MA

Beth Stroul, M.Ed., Children and Families, Vice President, Management and Training Innovations, Inc., McLean, VA

Jurgen Unutzer, M.D., M.P.H., Mental Health Interface with General Medicine, Principle Investigator and Director, IMPACT Study Coordinating Center, Health Services Research Center, UCLA Neuropsychiatric Institute, Los Angeles, CA

Doug Ziedonis, M.D., M.P.H., Co-occurring Disorders, Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry, UMDNJ - Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, Piscataway, NJ

Research and technical support

Garrett Moran, Ph.D., Associate Area Director, Westat, Rockville, MD

Susan Azrin, Ph.D., Senior Study Director, Westat, Rockville, MD

Miriam Davis, Ph.D., Medical Writer and Consultant, Silver Spring, MD

Howard Goldman, M.D., Ph.D., Professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD

Carolyn Boccella Bagin, M.Ed., Center for Clear Communication, Inc., Rockville, MD


Previous Page Table Of Contents


Commission on Mental Health Logo

Mental Health Resources / Home