Nav Bar Press Room
Nav Bar

Press Release


The Honorable James S. Gilmore, III
Commonwealth of Virginia


Mr. Dean F. Andal
California Board of Equalization

Mr. C. Michael Armstrong
Chairman and CEO,

Mr. Joseph H. Guttentag
Senior Advisor to the Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy
U.S. Department of the Treasury

The Honorable Paul C. Harris Sr. Delegate
Virginia House of Delegates

The Honorable Delna Jones
Washington County, Oregon

The Honorable Ron Kirk
City of Dallas

The Honorable Michael O. Leavitt
State of Utah

Mr. Gene N. Lebrun
President (1997-1999)
National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws

The Honorable Gary Locke
State of Washington

Mr. Grover Norquist
Americans for Tax Reform

Mr. Robert Novick
General Counsel
U.S. Trade Representative

Mr. Richard Parsons
Time Warner, Inc.

Mr. Andrew Pincus
General Counsel
U.S. Department of Commerce

Mr. Robert Pittman
President & Chief Operating Officer
America Online

Mr. David Pottruck
President & co-Chief Executive Officer
Charles Schwab and Company

Mr. John W. Sidgmore
Vice Chairman
MCI WorldCom and Chairman UUNET

Mr. Stanley Sokul
Independent Consultant
Association for Interactive Media

Mr. Theodore Waitt
Gateway, Inc.

For Immediate Release
September 24, 1999

Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce
Posts Transcripts from New York City Meeting


The Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce has posted transcripts from its New York City meeting on the Commission's website, The federal commission, appointed by Congress to debate the complex issue of Internet taxation, met in New York City on September 14 and 15. Commissioners discussed local, state, and federal tax issues associated with Internet access, telecommunications, and electronic commerce. The New York City meeting also featured many guest speakers, including:

Charles Bayless, chairman, president, and CEO, Illinova Power
Dan Bucks, director, Multistate Tax Commission
Kaye Caldwell, CommerceNet
Annabelle Canning, vice president, Committee on State Taxation
Gary Cornia/Kendall Houghton, National Tax Association Communications and Electronic Commerce Tax Project
Harley Duncan, director, Federation of Tax Administrators
Jim Eads, Ernst & Young
Jeffery A. Eisenach, president, The Progress & Freedom Foundation
George Issacson, Direct Marketers' Association
Commissioner Randy Johnson, chair of the Hennepin, MN County Board
Joseph Brooks, councilman , City of Richmond, VA
Bruce Josten, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Raymond Keating, chief economist, Small Business Survival Committee
Matthew Kisber, representative, TN and Steven Rauschenberger, senator, IL
Michael Mazerov, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
Terrence Ryan, director of State and Local Taxes, Apple Computer
Ed Shimizu, director, National Regulatory Relations, GTE
Fran Smith, Consumer Alert
Wm. Gregory Turner, California Taxpayers' Association

In addition to the meeting transcripts, which were posted today, many of the guest speakers' presentations will be available to the public and the media on Monday, September 27. Additionally, the audiocast and Webcast from the proceedings will remain on the site until October 15, 1999.


Debbie Neville, O'Keeffe & Company, Inc.
(703) 883-9000, x104 or

Appointed by Congress in October 1998, as part of the Internet Tax Freedom Act, the 19-member Commission is tasked with studying the impact of federal, state, local, and international taxation and tariffs on transactions using the Internet and Internet access. The Commission's recommendations are due to Congress by April 21, 2000.

3401 North Fairfax Drive
Telephone: (703) 993-8049 · Facsimile: (703) 993-8250

The Commission | Press Room | Calendar/Meetings | Library
Home | Site Map | FAQs | Links