Nav Bar Press Room
Nav Bar

Press Release


The Honorable James S. Gilmore, III
Commonwealth of Virginia


Mr. Dean F. Andal
California Board of Equalization

Mr. C. Michael Armstrong
Chairman and CEO,

Mr. Joseph H. Guttentag
Senior Advisor to the Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy
U.S. Department of the Treasury

The Honorable Paul C. Harris Sr. Delegate
Virginia House of Delegates

The Honorable Delna Jones
Washington County, Oregon

The Honorable Ron Kirk
City of Dallas

The Honorable Michael O. Leavitt
State of Utah

Mr. Gene N. Lebrun
President (1997-1999)
National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws

The Honorable Gary Locke
State of Washington

Mr. Grover Norquist
Americans for Tax Reform

Mr. Robert Novick
General Counsel
U.S. Trade Representative

Mr. Richard Parsons
Time Warner, Inc.

Mr. Andrew Pincus
General Counsel
U.S. Department of Commerce

Mr. Robert Pittman
President & Chief Operating Officer
America Online

Mr. David Pottruck
President & co-Chief Executive Officer
Charles Schwab and Company

Mr. John W. Sidgmore
Vice Chairman
MCI WorldCom and Chairman UUNET

Mr. Stanley Sokul
Independent Consultant
Association for Interactive Media

Mr. Theodore Waitt
Gateway, Inc.

Press Contact:
Stephen W.T. O'Keeffe
O'Keeffe & Company, Inc.
(703) 883-9000 ext. 111
For Immediate Release
September 15, 1999

Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce Rolls up Virtual Shirt Sleeves,
Engages in Substantive Debate in New York
Passes Resolution, Names Report Drafting Subcommittee

New York City, NY - September 15, 1999 - The Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce held substantive meetings in New York over the past two days to further its Internet taxation debate. Commissioners heard a series of presentations and rolled up their shirtsleeves to wrestle with pivotal issues. In addition to hearing several reports from experts, the Commission named members to the report drafting subcommittee. The members of the drafting subcommittee, are:

  • Jim Gilmore, governor, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Dean Andal, chairman, California Board of Equalization
  • Richard Parsons, president, Time Warner, Inc.
  • David Pottruck, president & co-chief executive officer, Charles Schwab Corporation
  • Gary Locke, governor, State of Washington
  • Andrew Pincus, general counsel, U.S. Department of Commerce
  • Delna Jones, commissioner, Washington County, Oregon
  • Robert Pittman, president, chief operating officer, America Online, Inc.
  • Stan Sokul, independent consultant, Association for Interactive Media

Further, the Commission approved a resolution from commissioner Grover Norquist, president, Americans for Tax Reform. The resolution endorses the U.S. Trade Representative's (USTR) position that seeks to make permanent the World Trade Organization's (WTO) temporary moratorium on custom duties on electronic transmissions.

The Webcast of the Commission's New York meeting will be available for viewing Thursday, September 16-23 at The Commission will subsequently post meeting transcripts at its Website.

The Commission will take its next full, face-to-face meeting in San Francisco, December 14 and 15. The location for this meeting is to be announced.

About the Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce
Created by Congress in October 1998 as part of the Internet Tax Freedom Act,the 19-member Commission, has been charged with studying the impact of federal, state, local, and international taxation and tariffs on transactions using the Internet and Internet access. Central to the examination of these issues is the fact that the Internet knows no geographical boundaries, and, by its very nature, violates those geographical boundaries that hinder other forms of commerce. Recommendations are due to Congress no later than April 21, 2000. For more information about the Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce, please visit the Commission's Website at

3401 North Fairfax Drive
Telephone: (703) 993-8049 · Facsimile: (703) 993-8250

The Commission | Press Room | Calendar/Meetings | Library
Home | Site Map | FAQs | Links