Nav Bar Press Room
Nav Bar

Press Release


The Honorable James S. Gilmore, III
Commonwealth of Virginia


Mr. Dean F. Andal
California Board of Equalization

Mr. C. Michael Armstrong
Chairman and CEO,

Mr. Joseph H. Guttentag
Senior Advisor to the Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy
U.S. Department of the Treasury

The Honorable Paul C. Harris Sr. Delegate
Virginia House of Delegates

The Honorable Delna Jones
Washington County, Oregon

The Honorable Ron Kirk
City of Dallas

The Honorable Michael O. Leavitt
State of Utah

Mr. Gene N. Lebrun
President (1997-1999)
National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws

The Honorable Gary Locke
State of Washington

Mr. Grover Norquist
Americans for Tax Reform

Mr. Robert Novick
General Counsel
U.S. Trade Representative

Mr. Richard Parsons
Time Warner, Inc.

Mr. Andrew Pincus
General Counsel
U.S. Department of Commerce

Mr. Robert Pittman
President & Chief Operating Officer
America Online

Mr. David Pottruck
President & co-Chief Executive Officer
Charles Schwab and Company

Mr. John W. Sidgmore
Vice Chairman
MCI WorldCom and Chairman UUNET

Mr. Stanley Sokul
Independent Consultant
Association for Interactive Media

Mr. Theodore Waitt
Gateway, Inc.

For Immediate Release

July 23, 1999

Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce
Historic First Meeting Transcripts Posted

WHAT: The Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce, a Federal commission charged with debating the controversial issue of Internet taxation, held its historic first meeting in Williamsburg, Virginia on June 21 and 22, 1999 at the College of William and Mary. Following its administrative meeting on the 21st, the 19-member panel met the next day to individually address the committee with three-minute summations of their respective views, in accord with the commission agenda. Several guest speakers provided presentations, including:

  • Donald Abelson from the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative, "Duty-Free Cyberspace: What It Means, Why It Is Important"
  • Dr. William Fox of the University of Tennessee, "Sales Taxes as Revenue Sources and Cyber Economy"
  • Dr. Austin Goolsbee of the University of Chicago School of Business, "The Impact of Taxation on Internet Sales"
  • Walter Hellerstein, J.D., of the University of Georgia School of Law, "The Law of Sales Taxes in a Cyber Economy"
  • Charles McClure, Hoover Institute, "Achieving Neutrality between Electronic and Non-Electronic Commerce"
  • Peter Merrill, PricewaterhouseCoopers, "Taxing E-Commerce in a Global Economy: Old Issues, New Media, New Opportunities"

These presentations, as well as the transcripts from the meeting, are now available to the public and media on the commission web site.


 Debbie Neville
O'Keeffe & Company, Inc.
(703) 883-9000, x104
 Mark Miner
Press Secretary
Office of the Governor of Virginia
(804) 692-3110

ABOUT THE COMMISSION: Created by Congress in October 1998 as part of the Internet Tax Freedom Act, the 19-member Commission, has been charged with studying the impact of federal, state, local, and international taxation and tariffs on transactions using the Internet and Internet access. Central to the examination of these issues is the fact that the Internet knows no geographical boundaries, and, by its very nature, violates those geographical boundaries that hinder other forms of commerce. The commission is also expected to analyze the implications for personal privacy implicit in the taxation of Internet purchases. Recommendations are due in to Congress no later than April 21, 2000.

3401 North Fairfax Drive
Telephone: (703) 993-8049 · Facsimile: (703) 993-8250

The Commission | Press Room | Calendar/Meetings | Library
Home | Site Map | FAQs | Links