Nav Bar Press Room
Nav Bar

Media Alert


The Honorable James S. Gilmore, III
Commonwealth of Virginia


Mr. Dean F. Andal
California Board of Equalization

Mr. C. Michael Armstrong
Chairman and CEO,

Mr. Joseph H. Guttentag
Senior Advisor to the Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy
U.S. Department of the Treasury

The Honorable Paul C. Harris Sr. Delegate
Virginia House of Delegates

The Honorable Delna Jones
Washington County, Oregon

The Honorable Ron Kirk
City of Dallas

The Honorable Michael O. Leavitt
State of Utah

Mr. Gene N. Lebrun
President (1997-1999)
National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws

The Honorable Gary Locke
State of Washington

Mr. Grover Norquist
Americans for Tax Reform

Mr. Robert Novick
General Counsel
U.S. Trade Representative

Mr. Richard Parsons
Time Warner, Inc.

Mr. Andrew Pincus
General Counsel
U.S. Department of Commerce

Mr. Robert Pittman
President & Chief Operating Officer
America Online

Mr. David Pottruck
President & co-Chief Executive Officer
Charles Schwab and Company

Mr. John W. Sidgmore
Vice Chairman
MCI WorldCom and Chairman UUNET

Mr. Stanley Sokul
Independent Consultant
Association for Interactive Media

Mr. Theodore Waitt
Gateway, Inc.

For Immediate Release
April 7, 2000

Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce
To Present Report to Congress

Governor Gilmore to Discuss Report at Newsmaker Luncheon


The chairman of the Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce, Virginia Governor James S. Gilmore, III, will formally present the CommissionŐs Report to Congress in ceremonies on Capitol Hill with Speaker of the House Dennis Hastert, Senate Majority Leader Trent Lott, and House Majority Leader Dick Armey. Following, Governor Gilmore is set to elaborate on the report at a newsmaker luncheon held at the National Press Club.

Appointed by Congress in October 1998 as part of the Internet Tax Freedom Act, the 19-member Commission has been tasked with studying the impact of federal, state, local, and international taxation and tariffs on transactions using the Internet and Internet access.

When: April 12, 2000
10:00 am Ceremony (Room H210, U.S. Capitol)
12:30 pm Luncheon (National Press Club)
1:00 pm Remarks and Q&A

Luncheon: Advance reservations may be made by calling Patricia Nelson at (202) 662-7501. Admission rates:

Member/Student Rate: $16.00
MembersŐ Guest Rate: $28.00
General Admission Rate: $35.00

Room H210
United States Capitol
National Press Club
529 14th Street
13th Floor
Washington, D.C.

Debbie Neville
O'Keeffe & Company, Inc.
(703) 883-9000, x104
Heather Rosenker
Executive Director
Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce
(703) 993-8049
Mark Miner
Press Secretary
Office of the Governor of Virginia
(804) 692-3110

3401 North Fairfax Drive
Telephone: (703) 993-8049 · Facsimile: (703) 993-8250

The Commission | Press Room | Calendar/Meetings | Library
Home | Site Map | FAQs | Links