Columbia Accident Investigation Board
Home Board Charter Board Members News Photos Events Contact The CAIB
Columbia Accident Investigation Board Minutes of Open Meeting

Date of Meeting: Thursday, March 6, 2003
Time of Meeting: 10:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Location of Meeting:
Bayou Theatre
University of Houston at Clear Lake
3600 Bay Area Boulevard
Houston, Texas

Board Members Present:
Admiral Hal Gehman
Rear Admiral Stephen Turcotte
Major General John Barry
Major General Kenneth Hess
Dr. James N. Hallock
Brigadier General Duane Deal
Mr. Roger E. Tetrault
Dr. Sheila Widnall

Board Staff Present:
Laura Brown
Lt. Col. Tyrone Woodyard

Other Government Employees Present in Their Official Capacity:
Jefferson Howell, Jr., Director, NASA Johnson Space Center
Ronald Dittemore, Manager, Space Shuttle Program

Members of the Public who Presented Oral or Written Statements:
Mr. Keith Chong
Dr. Harry McDonald

Matters Discussed:

Organization of the Space Shuttle Program, including lines of authority, budget processes and institutional support provided by the Johnson Space Center.

The safety and mission assurance functions within the Johnson Space Center and the Space Shuttle Program.

Privatization of the Space Shuttle Program and associated geographic relocations of programmatic responsibilities.

The process for approving waivers relative to launch readiness decisions.

The properties, application and inspection of North Carolina Foam Insulation 24-124 as used as an insulating agent on the Delta 4 Expendable Launch Vehicle and the Space Shuttle External Tank.

The recommendations of the Space Shuttle Independent Assessment Team and NASA’s response to those recommendations in the areas of staffing, budget, shuttle upgrades, risk assessment and tracking of problem reporting and corrective actions.

Matters Resolved at the Meeting:


Documents Received, Issued or Approved at the Meeting:


Back to Event

Privacy Policy Disclaimer Accessibility