Advisory Committee on Online Access and Security

Membership List

Revised Membership List

Listed below are the names of the individuals who have been selected to serve on the Advisory Committee on Online Access and Security, including two new members added on February 9, 2000. The Commission received and considered nominations for approximately 190 candidates, all of whom were highly qualified. In selecting members to serve on the Committee, the Commission strove to create a membership that would be balanced in terms of viewpoints and expertise, and would adequately represent the diverse interests affected by the issues being discussed. Unfortunately, in order to ensure a manageable size for the Committee, the Commission was forced to narrow the list of qualified nominees to 40 members.

We thank everyone who submitted nomination letters, and we encourage all nominees to submit comments for consideration by the Advisory Committee, and to attend the remaining public meetings of the Committee on February 25, March 31, and April 28 of this year. For further information about Advisory Committee meetings, please check the Advisory Committee Web page,

Mr. James C. Allen,
Vice President of Development and Operations,

Stewart A. Baker, Esq.,
Steptoe & Johnson LLP

Mr. Richard Bates,
Vice President of Government Relations,
The Walt Disney Company

Ms. Paula J. Bruening,
Director of Compliance and Policy, TRUSTe

Mr. Steven C. Casey,
Director of Government Affairs,
RSA Security, Inc.

Fred H. Cate, Esq.,
Professor of Law, Indiana University School of Law - Bloomington

Mr. Jerry Cerasale,
Senior Vice President for Government Affairs,
Direct Marketing Association, Inc.

Steven J. Cole, Esq.,
Senior Vice President and General Counsel,
Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc.

Dr. Lorrie Faith Cranor,
Senior Technical Staff Member,
AT&T Labs-Research

Dr. Mary J. Culnan,
Professor, McDonough School of Business,
Georgetown University

Mr. E. David Ellington,
Co-Founder, Chairman, President and CEO,
NetNoir, Inc.

Ms. Tatiana Gau,
Vice President of Integrity Assurance,
America Online, Inc.

Alexander Gavis, Esq.,
Assistant General Counsel,
Fidelity Investments

Dr. Daniel E. Geer, Jr., Chief Technologist
SystemExperts Corporation

Mr. Rob Goldman,
Executive Vice President of Customer Experience,, Inc.

Mr. Robert T. Henderson, Vice President, Warehouse Outsourcing Solutions, NCR Corporation

David Hoffman, Esq.,
Intel Corporation

Dr. Lance J. Hoffman, Professor of Computer Science, School of Engineering and Applied Science, George Washington University

Mr. Josh Isay, Director of Public Policy and Government Affairs, DoubleClick, Inc.

Mr. Daniel Jaye, Chief Technology Officer,
Engage Technologies, Inc.

Dr. John Kamp, Senior Vice President, American Association of Advertising Agencies

Mr. Rick Lane, Director of Congressional and Public Affairs, U.S. Chamber of Commerce

James W. Maxson, Esq., Delta Air Lines, Inc.

Mr. Gregory Miller, Chief Internet Strategist, MedicaLogic, Inc.

Deirdre Mulligan, Esq., Staff Counsel, Center for Democracy and Technology

Deborah Pierce, Esq., Staff Attorney, Electronic Frontier Foundation

Ronald Plesser, Esq., Piper, Marbury, Rudnick & Wolfe LLP

Dr. Lawrence A. Ponemon, Partner, Global Leader for Compliance Risk Management, PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP

Mr. Richard Purcell, Director, Corporate Privacy Group, Microsoft Corporation

Mr. Arthur B. Sackler, Vice President for Law and Public Policy, Time Warner, Inc.

Dr. Daniel Schutzer, VP and Director of External Standards and Advanced Technology, e-Citi, Citigroup

Mr. Andrew Shen, Policy Analyst, Electronic Privacy Information Center

Dr. Jonathan M. Smith, Professor, Department of Computer and Information Science, University of Pennsylvania

Mr. Richard Smith, Internet Security Consultant

Ms. Jane Swift, Lieutenant Governor of Massachusetts, The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

James E. Tierney, Esq.
Former Attorney General of Maine

Frank C. Torres III, Esq., Legislative Counsel, Consumers Union

Mr. Thomas Wadlow, Vice President of Security Research and Development,
Pilot Network Services, Inc.

Mr. Ted Wham, Director, Membership,
Excite@Home Network

Ms. Rebecca Whitener, Principal, Global Services Security and Consulting Group,
IBM Corporation