Great Seal of the United States National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States

Seventh public hearing of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States

Biography of Timothy J. Ahern

Timothy J. Ahern was named Vice President Ė DFW Hub in September 2002. In that capacity, he oversees Americanís largest hub with more than 500 daily mainline jet departures and more than 17,000 employees.

Ahern had served as Vice President for Safety - Security and Environmental since January 2000. He was responsible for Americanís development of procedures and ensured compliance in the three critical areas

Ahern had served as Vice President of Operations Planning and Performance since 1996. He has also been Managing Director of Field Services, Ticketing and Terminal Services, and Ground Operations. He was General Manager of Americanís San Diego Airport Operations from 1990 to 1993.

Ahern joined American in 1978 as a Reservations Agent and held a variety of management positions in the reservations organization early in his career, including Manager-Reservations Operations from 1985 to 1987, and Division Manager of the airline's Western Reservations Office beginning in 1988.

Ahern joined headquarters staff in Dallas/Fort Worth in 1993 as Managing Director-Field Services, and later became Managing Director-Ticketing and Terminal Services before being promoted to Managing Director-Ground Operations in 1995. He held that post until his appointment as Vice President.

A native of Madelia, Minnesota, Ahern is a 1977 graduate of Dowling College, where he received a Bachelor of Science in Aviation and Business Administration. He and his wife, Susie, and son live in Southlake, Texas.

Current News

The Commission has released its final report. [more]

The Chair and Vice Chair have released a statement regarding the Commission's closing. [more]

The Commission closed August 21, 2004. [more]

Commission Members

Thomas H. Kean

Lee H. Hamilton
Vice Chair

Richard Ben-Veniste
Fred F. Fielding
Jamie S. Gorelick
Slade Gorton
Bob Kerrey
John F. Lehman
Timothy J. Roemer
James R. Thompson

Commission Staff

Philip D. Zelikow
Executive Director

Chris Kojm
Deputy Executive Director

Daniel Marcus
General Counsel